Ask the Author

This is the weekly feature where I take time to answer any questions asked of me, about writing or anything else that comes to mind. This week, Ray Davis asked two questions.

Do you have a writing routine?

I suppose it could be said that I have an informal writing routine. Every day, I will set aside a few hours in the morning for writing. However, sometimes I do not write for the full time, sometimes I write more than that, and sometimes I don’t write at all. But even if I don’t actually get more than a word done in a given day, I still try to at least look at the manuscript to keep my myself in the writing mindset.

What advice do you have for writers just starting their novels to keep them going all the way to the finish?

Once you start writing, don’t look back at what you’ve already done until you’ve finished the story. Looking back is a good way to guarantee you’ll find terrible mistakes that require immediate correction, which will lead to noticing more and more errors until you’re revising an incomplete first draft. The way I look at it, the first draft’s only purpose is to get the story out of my head and onto paper. Once I have that, I can go through with as many drafts as I need to get the words themselves right.


Do you have any questions for me? If so, I’d love to hear from you! Any questions can be sent to me as a comment here, in an email, or through any of the other channels currently open.

Follow me on Twitter

Buy The Clocksmith on Amazon

The Clocksmith on Goodreads

Email me at brigardine@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

